Houston Personal Injury Lawyers
Your Rights. Your Life. Our Priority. Trial Attorneys with Three Decades of Experience

Houston DWI Defense Lawyers

Charged with Driving While Intoxicated in Texas?

In the state of Texas, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) that is at or above the legal limit.

Texas BAC limits vary for different types of drivers:

  • Driver age 21 or older - .08%
  • Driver under the age of 21 - .02%
  • Driver with a commercial license - .04%

Impairment is generally proven based on the use of standardized field sobriety tests - such as the walk-and-turn, one-leg stand and horizontal gaze nystagmus tests - and by other observations made by the law enforcement officer.

If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated based on either of these grounds, you are at risk of being subjected to a harsh sentence in the event that you are convicted. It is important to enlist the representation of an experienced Houston DWI attorney at our criminal defense firm as soon as possible to make sure your rights are protected.

Texas Drunk Driving Penalties

The penalties for a first-time drunk driving offense includes up to $2,000 in fines, a jail sentence of between 3 and 180 days, a driver's license suspension lasting up to a full year and license surcharge fees totaling up to $6,000 over the course of the coming 3 years.

There are tougher penalties for a repeat offense or for aggravating factors, such as up to 2 years in jail and a $10,000 fine if you were driving with a passenger younger than the age of 15 or if your blood alcohol concentration was especially high. Beyond these penalties, you would also face a future of living with a criminal record, a fact which can make it difficult or even impossible to find suitable housing or employment.

Steps to Take After a DWI Arrest in Houston

The first thing you must do following an arrest for DWI is to schedule an administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing . You have only 15 days to do this, and it is your first opportunity to fight to avoid a driver's license suspension. In fact, failure to request an ALR hearing will lead to an automatic suspension of between 90 days and 2 years regardless of whether you succeed in challenging the criminal charges.

It is in your best interests to fight the case even if the evidence against you seems to be overwhelming; with proven DWI defense strategies it is often possible to have charges dismissed based on the fact that the evidence is unreliable or that the suspect's rights were violated in the course of the investigation.

Take action now and contact Farah Law for a free consultation with a Houston DWI lawyer from our team! We can stand by you at every stage of the case, from the ALR hearing through to the final conclusion, and we are prepared to work tirelessly on your behalf.

Our Commitment to Excellence

  • BBB
  • 16
  • 15
  • 14
  • 13
  • 12
  • 9
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1

Contact Guerra & Farah PLLC

Submit any Questions or Concerns You May Have
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.